Meet Our Scholars

Over the past 58 years, the Chessmen Club has provided students with Scholarships so they can attend college or vocational schools. $500,000 in scholarships have been awarded with the majority of those funds being raised in the past 10 years.  In recent years, we have been able to award $20,000 to 20 students each year based on our fundraising efforts. With the rising cost of college tuition, we realize the need to raise more money to help students offset these rising cost.  

Please take the opportunity to meet our Scholars and see the difference we are able to make when we invest in our students. 


Congratulations to Our Class of 2017 Scholars!

Scholars 2017

Chessmen Club Presidential Scholars

Naissa Charles                                                                                                                                                       Alex Moore

Chessmen Club Scholars
Elshaday Abraham                                                                                                                                                 Erin Bates                                                                                                                                                             Jalea Davis                                                                                                                                                           Diwani Greenwell                                                                                                                                             Alexander Hilliard                                                                                                                                           Andrew Kelly                                                                                                                                                   Thomas Mosley                                                                                                                                                   Linda Osei                                                                                                                                                         Lauryn Poyser                                                                                                                                                 Armand Vasquez                                                                                                                                               Chyna Wright

Class of 2016 Scholars Dinner


2016 Scholarship Awardees

Presidential Scholars:

Bailee Rue (Northwestern)
Bahajide Bagbose (DePaul)

Morris Barefield Scholar:

Reggie Murphy (University of Pennsylvania)

Dr. Charles Thomas Scholar:

Spencer Moy (University of Chicago)


Alia Maria Holland (University of Kentucky)
Elijah Hubbard
Amarii Johnson (Ohio Wesleyan)
Aerin Mitchell (University of Kentucky)
Michael Matthew (Howard University)
Joshua Pearson (Northwestern University)
Ktyah Point-du-Jour (University of Illinois)
Immanuel Woodberry (Northern Michigan University)

Taylor Avery (Howard University)
Olasumbo Babalola (University of Missouri)
Sydney Bernadel (Purdue University)
Matthew Cannida (University of Iowa)
Erika Carter (Northwestern University)
Ryan Christie (University of Illinois)
Johnetta Davis (DePaul University)
Alexia Harvery (DePaul University)

Chessmen Scholar Spotlights

Alia Holland

College:     University of Kentucky
Major:         Arts Administration (Mix of Arts & Business)
Minor:         Dance and potentially Entrepreneurship
Work:          Convenient store in Dorm


  • UK Manrrs a Business and Agriculture group for networking that travels to regional and national conferences that allows African American kids to network for jobs and internships after college
  • Under Ground Perspective is a diverse group that speaks on social issues and trending topics in the media. 

Thoughts: “I don't think I have been happier in my life…. Kentucky is everything I anticipated and I'm excited to continue here”.